Bookmark and Share

Berks County Science Olympiad Competition returns to KU

Jan. 5, 2012

KUTZTOWN - Kutztown University hosts the 2012 Berks County Science Olympiad on Thursday, Jan. 5, 2012.

Registration begins at 7:30 a.m. in the McFarland Student Union (MSU). A meeting, including all the participants, will be held in the multipurpose room at 8:30 a.m., followed by the competition at 8:50 a.m. at various locations on campus. The competition will conclude with an awards ceremony at 1:30 p.m. at the MSU.

The Science Olympiad is an international nonprofit organization devoted to improving the quality of K-12 science education, creating a passion for learning science and providing recognition for outstanding achievement in science education by both students and teachers. These goals are accomplished through classroom activities, research, professional development workshops and the encouragement of intramural, district, regional, state, national and international tournaments.

The Olympiad is organized by schools at the junior high and senior high levels. Each school sends one team to compete in a variety of events. High school teachers serve as the coaches, judges, and coordinators.

Olympiad competitions are conducted at four levels - local, regional, state, and national. The local competition is designed to prepare students for regional competition. No teams are eliminated in the local competition.

The schools participating in the competition held at KU include: Antietam Jr./Sr. High School, Boyertown Area Senior High School, Conrad Weiser High School, Daniel Boone Area High School, Exeter Township Senior High School, Fleetwood Senior High School, Governor Mifflin Senior High School, Hamburg Area Jr./Sr. High School, Kutztown Area Senior High School, Muhlenberg Senior High School, Reading High School, Schuylkill Valley High School, Tulpehocken Jr./Sr. High School, Twin Valley Jr./Sr. High School, West Chester Rustin High School, Wilson High School, and Wyomissing Area Jr./Sr. High School.

The official website of the International Science Olympiad is