Bookmark and Share

KU Electronic Media Students Receive Four Regional Emmy Nominations

August 14, 2014

KUTZTOWN, Pa. - The Kutztown University Electronic Media Department has received four Mid Atlantic regional Emmy nominations from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). There are eight college and university production categories.   KU swept the College - Live Sports Production category receiving all of the nominations and guaranteeing the school an award.  They also received two nominations in the Arts and Entertainment/Public Affairs category.

Kutztown was second only to Temple University which received eight nominations and tied Penn State University for second place with four.  Other schools receiving nominations were Drexel, Duquesne and Neumann Universities and the University of Delaware. 

Productions that received nominations were: 

College - Live Sports Production

Kutztown University Football vs. Edinboro University
Angela Newton, director
Calvin Spohn, assistant director
Ryan Hill, technical director
Professor Cara Cotellese, faculty advisor

PSAC Basketball Playoffs 
Marilyn Miller, director
Eliot Lerch, assistant director
Zach Langdon, technical director
Professor Cara Cotellese, faculty advisor

Arts and Entertainment/Public Affairs Category

Saint Peters Village
(Click here to view)
Marilyn Miller, producer, director, videographer
David Youndt, videographer
Emmanuel Metayer, editor
Professor Helen Bieber, executive producer

(Click here to view)
Dylan Hitcho, producer, director, videographer, editor
Professor Helen Bieber, executive producer
Professor Andrew Skitko, executive producer

In addition, six KU alumni working in the industry were nominated for awards.  They include:

J.R. Aguila '82, producer, Comcast SportsNet
Frank Arendt '90, creative director, Top Flight Media
Andrew Cunningham '02, photojournalist, WTAE, Pittsburgh
Don Hampton '91, producer/director, Penn State University Public Media
William Seiders '00, photojournalist, WHP, Harrisburg
James Spering '84, photographer, CBS 3, Philadelphia

The NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It was founded in 1957.

The Mid Atlantic is one of 19 regions of the NATAS and covers parts of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Ohio.  This marks the 32nd year for the Mid Atlantic Emmy Awards. 

Awards will be presented on September 20 at the Hilton Hotel, City Ave., Philadelphia.