Bookmark and Share

KU Electronic Media Garners Four Regional Emmy Nominations

Eight KU alumni also nominated

August 15, 2013
KUTZTOWN, Pa. - The Kutztown University Electronic Media Department has received four Mid Atlantic regional Emmy nominations from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). There are seven college and university production categories.   KU swept the Arts, Entertainment and Public Affairs category receiving all four of the nominations and guaranteeing the school an award.

Productions that received nominations were: 

Strasburg Railroad
Timothy Gutherman, Producer/Videographer
Rossin Wood, Producer/Videographer
Emily Kilefner, Editor

Eastern State Penitentiary
Ryan Hedrick, Producer/Videographer
Andrew Donahue, Videographer
Shawn Petcaugh, Editor

Roadside America
Timothy Gutherman, Producer/Videographer
Matthew Gilmer, Producer/Videographer
Emily Kilefner, Editor

Grims Greenhouse
Megan Ziegler, Producer/Videographer
Gregory Phillips, Producer/Videographer
Kellen Cunningham, Editor
Emily Kilefner, Editor

Electronic Media Department chair Helen Beiber and assistant professor Andrew Skitko served as advisors for all four productions. 

In addition, eight KU alumni working in the industry were also nominated for awards.  They include:
     Andrew Cunningham '02, Photojournalist, WTAE-TV (2 nominations)
     Kyrie George '06, Photojournalist, WHTM ABC 27
     Don Hampton '91, Producer, Penn State Public Media
     Pamela Kemp '08, Director, WHP CBS 21
     Brett Miller '10, Photographer, WFMZ-TV
     Ben Payavis '86, Director, WVIA-TV (2 nominations)
     Bill Rohrer '01, Photographer/Editor, Fox 29
     Jim Spering '83, Chief Photographer, CBS 3

The NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It was founded in 1957.

The Mid Atlantic is one of 19 regions of the NATAS and covers parts of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Ohio.  Awards will be presented on September 7 at the Sheraton Society Hill, Philadelphia.