Bookmark and Share

May 7, 2014


The Daily Brief


The Department of Sport Management and Leadership Studies awarded scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year to Cody Snyder and Tyler Kurtz. Scholarships are based on a student working to finance his education and a personal example of an ethically challenging situation where moral behavior reflected ethics.



(Click Here for the Central Calendar)

4 - 8 p.m.            Study Zone, Rohrbach 28




Please join me in congratulating these outstanding mathematics students who were recently inducted into the Pennsylvania Epsilon Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, the national honorary mathematics society: Aubree Beck, Brittaney Eshbach, Ahmed Hamed, Zachary Laurente, Kevin Ruppert, and Mark Van Dyk.

R.S. Schaeffer, advisor, KME



Beginning Monday, May 12, the northern end of the Stratton Administration Building parking lot (F1) will be closed for paving repairs and the entrance to the lot from Normal Street will be closed.  The southern end of the lot will remain open and can be accessed via the gate near Risley Hall.  Please follow posted detour signs.  A temporary pedestrian walkway will be installed on the west end of the lot (near Risley) to allow access to the building.  Please DO NOT walk through the construction area.  Any questions or concerns should be addressed to Steve Wilson, Project Manager at  Thanks in advance for your cooperation.

Terry D. Brown, director, Facilities Project Services



Maintenance Alert - A section of South Campus drive will be closed on Monday May 12 from 6  - 9 a.m. The only affected area will be to the west side of the new Bear Plaza. Traffic flow will be routed to the east side of the Bear Plaza.

Tom Green, director, Facilities Energy Management & Campus Utilities



The Department of Modern Language Studies is proud to announce the newest members of Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society:  Jacqueline Barnes, Matthew Bello, Elyse Boniscavage, Raquel Campanelli, Jacqueline Cortes, Catherine Espinal, Kelly Esslinger, Sarah Fields, Erienne Galvin, Athena Heck, Matthew Kuna, Raquel Violeta Luis, Natalie McSwain, Breanna Murray, Kristy Peronace, Leola Tracy Shearer, Jordan Thomas, Amber Weber, Bram Wilusz.

Department of Modern Language Studies



On Wednesday, April 30th, KU students in SPT325 Sport Consumerism presented their research findings to Reading Fightin' Phils. Dr. Kim and his students have been conducting research on the Fightin' Phils fans' behavior and psychology to help the minor league baseball team develop effective marketing strategies for increasing ticket sales.

Dr. Yongjae Kim, Department of Sport Management and Leadership Studies



Have you heard? KUR has a new daytime sound! Throughout the summer, KUR is now playing all the fun hits of the 70s and 80s with a dash of 60s and today! The jazz you know and love still plays every night from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m., but during the day, you now have no excuses (like "KUR is too sleepy" or "jazz is not my thing") for listening to other radio stations at your desk. Support KU and listen to KUR all summer long! In addition, student specialty shows intermingled in returns Memorial Day week. Stream KUR live at

Michael Regensburger, manager, KUR



Faculty and Staff -- Save the Date:   August 21, 2014 - This year's workshop on General Education and Assessment at Kutztown University will be held on August 21, 2014 from 9:00 to 2:30 in the Multipurpose Room, SUB.  The theme of the workshop will be aligning KU's General Education learning outcomes, assessments via the KU reporting templates, and assignments, and the facilitator will be Dr. Terry Rhodes, Vice President for the Office of Quality, Curriculum and Assessment at the Association of American Colleges & Universities. The workshop's objective is to facilitate conversations among faculty about their General Education- related assignments, and to promote greater intentionality in the connections of assignments to learning goals.  This event is co-sponsored by the General Education Assessment Committee, General Education Committee, Center for the Enhancement of Teaching, and the Office of Assessment. Additional information will be provided during the summer.

Gil Clary, assistant vice provost, Assessment



On behalf of the Office of the Chancellor, I would like to congratulate Stephen Helms (Kutztown University's Director, Office of Environment al Health and Safety) for his nomination and selection as a finalist for Campus Safety Magazine's Director of the Year Award.  Steve's vast knowledge and experience in the EHS field, along with his eagerness to "do the right thing" has made him a tremendous asset, not just to KU, but to the entire PASSHE system.  Certainly, his background and specialized knowledge of fire safety and emergency operations and response, his avid participation with the local fire company and Regional Task Force, all combined with a genuine concern for the faculty, staff, students and surrounding campus community, make him stand out among his peers as a true professional committed to his occupation.  His nomination, and subsequent selection as a finalist, for this award is well deserved. The link to the article in Campus Safety Magazine featuring Steve, a slideshow of pictures, and his podcast appears below.  Take a look and listen when you get a chance. 

Congratulations Steve!



Alan Margraf, Director of Facilities Operations, Pa. State System of Higher Education



Summer Hours - As in past years, the University will initiate summer hours beginning Monday, May 12, the Monday following Commencement.  These hours will remain in effect through Friday, August 22.  Summer hours will be from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., with a half-hour lunch.  Anyone who has a need to maintain the normal winter hours may submit a request through their supervisory line.  Approval for such a request will be at the Vice Presidential level.   Enjoy summer! 

Maria Hernandez, Executive Associate to the Vice President Administration and Finance



Senior Erin Reynolds (York, PA/Central York) of the Kutztown University field hockey team, and junior Hannah Pipkin (Landisville, PA/Hempfield) of the KU women's tennis team were honored as Outstanding Athletes of the Year in their respective sports on Tuesday afternoon at the Lehigh Valley Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (LVIAIW) annual luncheon at DeSales University.  The LVAIAW is made up of seven institutions; Cedar Crest College, DeSales University, Lafayette College, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Muhlenberg College and Kutztown University.