Bookmark and Share

May 2, 2014


The Daily Brief

The campus community got a chance to say farewell to Dr. Cevallos and his family Wednesday evening.  Click here to watch a video compilation of their time on campus and a preview of who is taking over the presidency at KU.  Video by Kelly Ryan, University Relations.  It is not available on mobile devices due to YouTube regulations.


(Click Here for the Central Calendar)


3 p.m.                                   Baseball vs. Pitt-Johnstown at PSAC Championship Tournament

4 p.m. - 6 p.m.                  Celebration reception for Dr. Robert Martin, Graduate Center lobby

4:30 p.m.                             KU Philosophy Club, MSU 116

8 p.m.                                   The Monuments Men, MSU Alumni Auditorium


Congratulations to the following students who were inducted into Phi Alpha Honor Society for Social Work.  Jonathan Asayag, Michael Apgar, Stephanie Buck, Linda C. Bayer, Kaitlyn Boyle, Bethany Bower,  Lissette M. Carcausto, Emily Britcher, Laura Craig, Eva D. Buck, Emilie Cruz, Lisa Fansler, Katrina Danyluk, Marisa Finocchio, Julia Davis, Amber Foley, Rachel Danae Dawson, Amanda Foulds, Jessica Fries, Lisa M. Getz, Emily Gokey, Courtney Kline, Stephanie Lukow, Sheryl McKlveen, Lucia Mujica, Rosemary Ramirez, Laurie Panella, Laura Reichard, Daniel Pfost, Ashley Ross, Megan A. Pilat, Nicole Ruela, Zachary Slaby, Katherine J. Pritchett, Katie Smith, Kayla Schubert, Katherine M. Sternbergh, Elizabeth Teboh, Karisa Thomas, Shelby Timberlake and Nikita Weikel.  Also congratulations to newly inducted faculty members Dr. Yoon Mi Kim, Professor David GilGoff, Dr. Fanghsun Wei and Dr. John Vafeas.



Retirement Reception - You are invited to a Celebration Reception in honor of Dr. Robert Martin, Professor of Geography, on the occasion of his retirement, on May 2, 2014 from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. in the Graduate Center lobby.  Cake and beverages will be available.  Please stop by to celebrate his amazing 30 year K.U. career and wish him well in his retirement!



Extended Hours for Finals Week at the Multicultural Center  -  Please inform your students that the Multicultural Center will be open the following hours during Finals Week.


Sunday, May 4:                                   6 p.m. - midnight

Monday, May 5:                                 8 a.m. - midnight

Tuesday, May 6:                                 8 a.m. - midnight

Wednesday, May 7:                           8 a.m. - midnight

Thursday, May 8:                               8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Friday, May 9:                                     8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


There will be snacks and beverages in the evening hours and free scantrons will be available upon request. The building is wireless and has computers and printers for the students' use.

Jeann Cengeri, office manager, Multicultural Center



McFarland Student Union's adjusted hours for Finals Week are as follows:

Sunday, May 4:  11 a.m.-1 a.m.

Monday, May 5 through Thursday, May 8:  7 a.m.-1 a.m.

Friday, May 9:  7 a.m.-6 p.m.

Saturday, May 10:  8 a.m.-6 p.m.

Sunday, May 11:  CLOSED

Jennifer Tanzos, secretary, McFarland Student Union


The Department of Business Administration is proud to announce the Senior Awards for the Academic Year 2013-2014. 

Institute of Internal Auditors Award - Alexander C. Phillips
Institute of Management Accountants Award - Kevin Fisk
Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award - Brianna L. Howells
Accountant Club Service Award - Daniel S. Harris
Robert Weiss CPA Memorial Award - Victor M. Jackson
Association of Certified Fraud Examiners Award - Ricardo Bastida
Overall Outstanding Academic Achievement in Accounting Award - Justin M. Oren

Overall Top Academic Achievement in Finance Award - Pulak Parag                   
Applied Investment Management Leadership Award - Adam D. Dobson
Financial Management Association, Kutztown University Chapter Leadership Award- Ognjen Cvetkovic

Outstanding Achievement in Marketing Award - Chynna Gehman
American Marketing Association Service Award -  Lily K. Rubinstein
American Advertising Federation Service Award - Heather J. Galusz

Outstanding Achievement in Management Award - Chase J. Wright
Outstanding Academic Achievement in Management Award - Briana L. Koert
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals Award for Outstanding contribution in the Club of Logistics and Supply Chain - Kaci L. Sell
Outstanding Academic achievement in Logistics and Supply Chain Management Award:  Justin J. Maynard
Outstanding Academic achievement in Logistics and Supply Chain Management Award:  Daniel C. Rouse


Congratulations to them all. 

Roger Hibbs,  chair, Department of Business Administration
Donna Steslow, assistant chair, Department of Business Administration




Kutztown University baseball won 2-1 in 12 innings over Seton Hill University on Thursday evening in the first round of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Championships at Kelly Automotive Park, Butler, Pa.  The Golden Bears (28-19), the fourth seed out of the Eastern Division, upset the top seeded Griffins (36-15) out of the west to advance to Friday's semifinal round. Kutztown will face Pitt-Johnstown (23-22) at 3 p.m.


Listen Live at 3 p.m.


Follow the game with Live Stats