Bookmark and Share

March 4, 2014


The Daily Brief


Kutztown University graduate student Amanda Funk is the winner of the Scholars for the Dream travel award, which provides funding toward presenting at this year's National Council of Teachers for English (NCTE) Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) and a one-year membership to NCTE.  The award, which is given to first-time conference presenters who belong to a historically underrepresented group, recognizes originality of research, significance of pedagogical or theoretical contributions to the field and the potential for larger, subsequent projects. 

Read her story here.



Kutztown's United Greek Council will host a bake sale on Thursday, March 6, outside the former One Card Office in the McFarland Student Union. Proceeds and donations will benefit the victims of the recent assaults at Bloomsburg University.

Jenni Rach, Assistant Director for Off Campus and Greek Life Programs



ASH WEDNESDAY - Ashes will be distributed on Wednesday, March 5th for all students, faculty and staff at two times and locations:  12:10 PM - Liturgy of the Word Service in the Saint Christopher

Catholic Newman Center and 9 PM - Catholic Mass in the Georgian Room of Old Main



Pride & Prejudice, Pre-conference film and discussion:  "HEDWIG and the Angry Inch."  Tuesday, March 4, 7 p.m., MSU 183:   A transsexual punk rock girl from East Berlin tours the US with her rock band as she tells her life story and follows the ex-boyfriend/band mate who stole her songs.  Discussion to follow by Professors Curt Herr and Alan Hines.   All students, staff, and faculty are welcome to attend!

Jerry W. Schearer, Associate Dean for Inclusion and Outreach



I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to my extended KU Family who have kept my family in their thoughts and prayers at this difficult time with the loss of my mother. It is very touching and greatly appreciated to know so many people truly care and it helps ease the pain and sorrow we are feeling at this difficult time. God Bless You All! Lisa Dietrich

Lisa Dietrich, Facilities Department



Please excuse the following students from classes March 11-14.  They will be attending the National Broadcasting Society's National Convention in Los Angeles.  They should be or have already contacted their professors to make arrangements to make up any work missed where possible.  Avontece Cabrera, Jess McKenney, Alex Eid, Matt Walsh, Nick Azzarello, Zach Langdon, Steve Maugeri, Kristian Golick, Zoey Grolman, Jordan Lannon, Mike Stewart, nick Winship, Max Boddorf, Will Espinosa, Ian Parisen, Mike Varlotta, Byron Copeland, Mike Venziale, Pat Weidman, Tyler Demcher, Calvin Spohn, Chris Francia, Joe Favinger, Anthony Cousin, Angela Newton, Haley Bianco, Ali Snyder, Austin Mulhern, Chris Pomparelli, Kevin Boyle, Andrew Abromowicz, Samantha Cartagena, and Nicole Marshall.

             Helen Bieber, Chairperson, Department of Electronic Media



Horton Hears KU - A discussion of Theodor Seuss Geisel: the Man, the Message, and the Methodology: Join us on Tuesday, March 4th, from 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m., in MSU room 312 for this casual event with food, drinks, and relaxed conversation that is open to all faculty, students, and staff. The discussion will be led by KU's very own self-described Seuss Nerd, Dr. Carol Watson. More information can be found on the Rohrbach Library's blog at:

Karen Wanamaker


You are invited to:  Concussion: Separating Fact from Fiction - March 4 (Tuesday) from 11:00 - 12:00 in the MSU Alumni Auditorium-183. The needs of those with brain injuries are complex and change over time.  Learn more about concussion and traumatic brain injury (TBI) from Deborah Delgado, TBI Project Director of the Disability Rights Network of PA, and Rennie Sacco, Director of Sports Medicine Services at KU, along with a panel of students who have experienced brain injury.

Disability Services





AFSCME 2234 members please join us for our next Union meeting on Monday, March 17, 2014 at Janelle's Catering Hall in Topton, PA at 7:00 pm.  We will be taking the call for the 42nd Annual  Convention of AFSCME Council 18 in Hershey April 25-27, 2014. 

Please plan to attend. 

Chris Ferris, Secretary AFSCME 2234