Contact the Physical Sciences Department
Physical Sciences Department
Boehm 425
Phone: 610 683-4447
Fax: 610-683-1352
Bookmark and Share

Geology Faculty

Paleontology Icon

Paleontology and Sedimentology

reading the rock and fossil record to understand ancient life

Dr. Edward L. Simpson
Department Chair
Paleontology and Sedimentology
610-683-4445
424 Boehm Science Building
simpson@kutztown.edu
Dr. Edward Simpson

Economic Geology Icon

Economic Geology and Geochemistry

probing to understand the chemical processes that transport and concentrate metals in the earth's crust

Dr. Kurt Friehauf
Professor
Economic Geology and Geochemistry
610-683-4446
135 Boehm Science Building
friehauf@kutztown.edu
Dr. Kurt Friehauf

Planet Icon

Planetary Geomorphology

exploring th eforces that shape the surfaces of planets Mars and Earth

Dr. Erin Kraal
Assistant Professor
Planetary Geomorphology
484-646-5859
116 Boehm Science Building
kraal@kutztown.edu
Dr. Erin Kraal

Marine Geology Icon

Marine Geology

investigating the geology of the ocean deeps and coastal environments

Dr. Adrienne Oakley
Assistant Professor
Marine Geology
484-646-4334
136 Boehm Science Building 
oakley@kutztown.edu
Dr. Adrienne Oakley

Environmental Icon

Economic Geology

examining the interactions between the lithosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere, and atmosphere

Dr. Jacob Sewall
Assistant Professor
Environmental Geology
484-646-5864
422 Boehm Science Building
sewall@kutztown.edu
Dr. Jacob Sewall

Geophysics Icon

Geophysics and Hydrogeology

measuring the earth's physical properties to solve environmental problems and study groundwater flow

Dr. Laura Sherrod
Assistant Professor
Geophysics and Hydrogeology
484-646-4113
138 Boehm Science Building
sherrod@kutztown.edu
Dr. Laura Sherrod

Structural Geology Icon

Structural Geology

analyzing how the earth's crust deforms by folding, breaking, and flowing

Dr. Sarah Tindall
Professor
Structural Geology
610-683-4325
137 Boehm Science Building
tindall@kutztown.edu 
Dr. Sarah Tindall