Bookmark and Share


OCTOBER 22, 2014

It is with profound sadness that we announce the passing of Professor Randy Schaeffer '72.

Professor Schaeffer's Obituary


CVMMC 2014

It is with great pride that I announce that Jesse Bailey, Zach Moran, and Ian Tomes have won the 6th annual Cumberland Valley Math Modeling Challenge held at Shippensburg University! This prize is awarded based on the presentation of their problem and solution as judged by the other competitors. Their problem was to determine a rating system that identifies the best U.S. city in which to live for people in the 18-35 age range, 36-64 age range, and the 65+ age range. They had 24 hours to develop a model, write a two-page summary of their solution, and a presentation of their solution. They have agreed to present their solution at the October 14th Math Club meeting.  Come check it out.

Congratulations! Dr. Eric Landquist, Mathematics


The cover of the September issue of Mathematics Teacher highlights the article Probability and Perception: The Representativeness Heuristic in Action, written by Dr. Lu and Dr. Vasko, Department of Mathematics, and Trevor J. Drummond and Lisa E. Vasko.

Cover of Mathematics Teacher September 2014

 JULY 17, 2014

It is with great sadness we announce the passing of Dr. Larry R. Mugridge, professor emeritus of mathematics, who died July 17, 2014. Mugridge was on the faculty at KU from 1972 until his retirement in 2011. Kutztown's Symposium on Undergraduate Mathematics Research is named in his honor.

Dr. Mugridge's Obituary

JULY 14, 2014

OR Insight : 25 articles from 25 years

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the journal OR Insight, its editors have reviewed the papers published over the last three decades and have made a selection of 25. These reflect both the way the application of OR has developed over the years and the different areas which have benefitted from its application. OR in action has always found a home in OR Insight.

Although all 25 articles are interesting, you might want to consider article #21 by Dr. Vasko and Dr. Ache, Department of Mathematics, and Natalie Snow, Institutional Research.  The link is

MAY 30, 2014

Congratulations to the following Mathematics Majors for making the dean's list:

  • Christina Carl
  • Katelyn Ciccozzi
  • Billy Cimorelli
  • Carisa Druckenmiller
  • Dylan Gaspar
  • Jeffrey Kraft
  • Hallie Langley
  • Zachary Laurente
  • Jacob Levan
  • Jessica Mayer
  • Sarah McQueen
  • Joseph Ritzko
  • Kevin Ruppert
  • Danielle Sienko
  • James Valek
  • Lauren A. Williams

MAY 14, 2014

Congratulations and thanks to the 2014 Faculty & Staff Recognition Honorees:

  • Dr. Deborah Frantz on her retirement; and,
  • Professor Kanchan Kumar for 30 years of service.

MAY 2, 2014

The Department of Mathematics Congratulates This Year's Undergraduate Prize Winners:

  • Mathematics Award - Sarah McQueen & Lauren Williams
  • Kappa Mu Epsilon - Michael Rex & Lauren Williams
  • Mathematics Outstanding Student Teacher - Jennifer O'Brien

AUGUST 23, 2013

Professor Randy Schaeffer, Associate Professor of Mathematics was awarded the
2013 The Arthur and Isabel Wiesenberger Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching