FAQWhat is Act 48 and who is affected?
Act 48 requires all Pennsylvania educators holding Pennsylvania public school certification -- including Intern, Instructional I and II, Educational Specialist I and II, Administrative, Supervisory, Letters of Eligibility and all vocational certificates -- to participate in ongoing professional education.
What are the requirements under Act 48?
All professional educators must obtain six college credits or 180 hours of continuing professional education programs, activities or learning experiences or any combination of credits or activity hours equivalent to 180 hours every five years for all types and areas of certification to maintain active status. One college credit equals 30 activity hours. All credits and activity hours must be related to an educator's certificate type or area of assignment. The administrator may approve exceptions if a change of assignment area is anticipated.
What are the specific deadlines for meeting the requirements?
The initial five-year period for all professional educators currently holding a Pennsylvania Professional Certification began on July 1, 2000 and ended June 30, 2005. The commencement date for Act 48 requirements for all professional educators certified after July 1, 2000 will be the date their initial certificate was granted. The requirements will be renewed at the end of each five-year period.
Can credits earned prior to July 1, 2000 be accepted to comply with Act 48 provisions? College credits and PDE-approved in-service credits earned after January 1, 2000 may be accepted.
May credits earned in excess of those required by Act 48 be used in the next five-year period?
There is no provision in the Act to carry credits over into the next compliance period.
How can educators and school entities access the continuing education records?
Information regarding the credits/hours earned and the continuing education status may be accessed through the Voice Response Unit at the Bureau of Teacher Certification and Preparation at 717-787-2967 or by going to the Bureau's Web pages.
How will educators and public school entities know when the five-year period is over?
At least 12 months prior to the end of the five-year period, the Department will notify both the educators and the public school entities regarding the continuing education status and remaining credit/hours, if any, to be completed. It is important that educators inform the Department of any change of address.
For more information, please contact us at 610-683-4332.